About Western Dairyland

President Lyndon B. Johnson signs the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964Western Dairyland Economic Opportunity Council, Inc. is a private, non-profit community action agency established June 6, 1966, under the Economic Opportunity Act to help disadvantaged individuals in the western Wisconsin counties of Buffalo, Eau Claire, Jackson, and Trempealeau. The agency's mission is to alleviate poverty-related conditions and provide opportunities which enable people to advance economically and socially.

Western Dairyland works with individuals as well as community organizations to improve the quality of life for all. The agency is governed by a 24 member Board of Directors representing a cross section of the community. Eight members are local elected officials, eight are representatives of the low-income population, and eight are representatives of community groups and organizations.

Western Dairyland programs are developed in response to identified community needs. Through competitive grant applications, the agency obtains funding from federal, state and private resources. Western Dairyland continues to be an advocate for the interests of the economically disadvantaged and will continue to bring these issues to the attention of policy makers at the local, state and national level.

Since 1990, Western Dairyland has been affiliated with a nationwide network of Community Action Agencies. Community Action changes people's lives, embodies the spirit of hope, improves communities, and makes America a better place to live. We care about the entire community, and we are dedicated to helping people help themselves and each other.

Board of Directors

Buffalo County
Bernard Brunkow -Nelson
Lou Anne Roby -Mondovi
Gentry Jesse -Alma
Tom Marum -Mondovi
Jim Ziegeweid -Mondovi

Trempealeau County
Dr. Charles Smith -Blair
Dr. Bill Baxa -Independence
Richard Schaumberg -Independence
Douglas Winters -Trempealeau
Curt Skoyen -Trempealeau
Stephanie Nelson -Eleva

Jackson County
Grady Gutknecht -Black River Falls
Mem-Gween Hernandez -Black River Falls
Joe Hunter -Black River Falls
Sheila Kersten -Osseo
Michelle Gunther -Melrose

Eau Claire County
Paul Savides -Mondovi
Nick Smiar -Eau Claire
Jenny Ebert -Eau Claire
Judy Gatlin -Eau Claire
Danielle Stanley -Eau Claire
Ashley Simpson -Eau Claire
Craig Thompson -Eau Claire

Learn more about our events Need Help? Contact us today