Home Rehabilitation Loans

Does your home need repairs? If you answered "yes" you may qualify for rehabilitation assistance through the Southwest Wisconsin Housing Region's Home Rehabilitation Program.

  • Minimum loan amount of $1,000
  • Funds are offered at 0% interest
  • No payments are made on the loan until the home is sold, refinanced, or is no longer the primary residence of the loan recipient
  • The loan is secured by a mortgage against the property

Loans may cover activities including:

  • Roof repair/replacement
  • Plumbing repairs
  • Lead paint remediation
  • Septic & well replacements
  • Siding repair/replacement
  • Electrical updates
  • Accessibility for individuals with disabilities
  • Energy efficiency improvements (including window replacements)

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Home must be located in Trempealeau, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Vernon, Crawford, Richland, Grant, Iowa, Lafayete or Green county
  • Loan recipient must own the home being repaired
  • Loan recipient must live in the home as your primary residence
  • Loan recipient must be income eligible
  • Mobile homes must be on land owned by the mobile home owner
  • The home must meet a decent, safe, and sanitary inspection after the rehabilitation work is completed

Household Income Limits

Eligible homeowner must have a total household income at or less than 80% of the county median income.

To apply for a Home Rehabilitation Loan

1. Download an Application

2. Mail the completed application to the agency serving your county. A list of counties and staff contacts is available on the right-hand side of this page.

Contact Us

For more information or to find out if you may be eligible for assistance, please contact:

Jackson & Trempealeau Counties
Western Dairyland
Community Action Agency
23122 Whitehall Road, PO Box 125
Independence, WI 54747

Staff contact: Troy Bjorgo
715-985-2391 ext. 1241

Crawford, La Crosse,
Monroe, and Vernon Counties

Couleecap, Inc.
700 3rd Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601

Staff contact: Home Repairs

Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette,
and Richland Counties

Southwestern WI
Community Action Program
149 North Iowa Street
Dodgeville, WI 53533

Staff contact: Lori Olson-Pink
608-935-2326 ext. 251

Learn more about our events Need Help? Contact us today